Ondo guber: 7 aspirants pay APC development levy

Despite the large number of people that have indicated interest in the gubernatorial ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the 2016 governorship election in Ondo State, only seven out of the over 50 have paid the N2 million development levy requested by the party.

The chairman of the party in the state, Honourable Isaccs Kekemeke, disclosed this at the party’s secretariat in Akure, Ondo State capital, while one of the party’s aspirants, Abiodun Adesida, came to submit his letter of notification and pay the development levy.

Kekemeke, who said the development levy would be kept in a special account of the party assured that the party would be fair to all the aspirants seeking the party’s ticket to contest the November 26 governorship election in the state.

He, however, emphasised on the need for unity to win the forthcoming election, warning against anything that can cause rancour among the aspirants.

According to the rules of conduct of the party, issued by the leadership of the party in the state, any aspirant who does not pay the development levy before July 25 would not be allowed to participate in the party’s primaries.

Adesida, a former member of the House of Representatives, said he was at the party secretariat to pay the development levy to signify his intention to contest the primaries of the party.

He promised to abide by the APC rules of conduct and accept the outcome of the party’s shadow election as well as work for the victory of who emerges candidate of the party.

Other aspirants who have paid the development levy are Senator Ajayi Boroffice, Hon. Bode Ayorinde, Segun Abraham, Bukola Adetula, Awodeyi Akinsehinwa and Paul Akintelure.