‘Influx of new members, good omen for Oyo APC’

The teeming number of members of opposition parties into the governing All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State has been described as a good omen for the future of politics in the state and the country as a whole.

Making remarks to this effect were APC stalwarts in the state at a stakeholders’ meeting of the party held on Thursday at Mapo Hall, Ibadan.

All the speakers at the meeting expressed delight over the influx of new members from the Accord, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party, Social Democratic Party, among others.

The meeting attracted all the members of the Chief Akin Oke-led state executive committee and scores of old and new members, particularly from all the nine local government areas in Oyo South Senatorial District.

Addressing the leaders and members of the party at the meeting, the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Honourable Michael Adeyemo, commended Governor Abiola Ajimobi for the action taken so far on the amendment and implementation of the law establishing additional local government councils in the state which paved the way for the ratification of creation local council development areas (LCDAs) by the state legislature.

The state chairman, Chief Akin Oke, in his address, implored members and supporters of the party in general to sustain their cooperation and support for the APC administration at all levels to facilitate the quick realisation of all the party’s programmes.

H reiterated the position of the state APC leadership to prohibit executive members at all levels from sponsoring, endorsing or supporting prospective aspirants ahead of the 2019 general election.

He noted that the time was not yet right for any scheming or intrigues from potential aspirants and their supporters for elections that are several months away.

Notable politicians and party stalwarts at the meeting include a former deputy governor of the state, Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja; Chief Ayo Eniade, Pa Timothy Jolaoso, Alhaji Fatai Ibikunle and Hon. Lasun Adebunmi.