Ahmed dissolves Kwara LG councils

GOVERNOR Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara State has approved the dissolution of the 16 Local Government Councils of the state.

The names of the council areas as contained in a statement by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Alhaji Isiaka Gold, which was made available to journalists in Ilorin on Friday, include Asa, Baruten, Edu, Ekiti, Ifelodun, Ilorin East, Ilorin West, Ilorin South, Irepodun, Isin, Kaiama, Moro, Offa, Oke-Ero, Oyun and Pategi.

The SSG said that the dissolution of the Local Government Councils, which is contained in the Kwara State Legal Notices No.4-19, was in exercise of the governor’s power conferred on him by section 18(5) (c) of the Kwara State Local Government Law (as amended) cap K33, Laws of Kwara State.

He also said that the dissolution of the councils was with effect from Friday.

“As a result, all the affected public office holders including the chairmen, vice chairmen, councillors, secretaries to the local government councils and Supervisors shall immediately vacate their offices and handover to their respective Directors of Personnel Management (DPMs),” the statement said.