Buhari committed to fight terrorism ― Aregbesola

In the face of renewed attacks by the insurgents, the Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, has reiterated the commitment of President Muhammadu Buhari to fight terrorism in the country and at the global level.

He spoke on Tuesday, in Abuja, in his inaugural speech at the meeting of the Committee on Citizen Data Management and Harmonization which was inaugurated by President Buhari.

He said the committee would enhance speedy harmonization of Nigeria’s numerous citizen identification data held by different government Ministries, Departments, and Agencies with a view to ensuring a single database owned and managed by the Federal Government.

He noted that the President Buhari government was committed to the global fight against terrorism and as such would leave no stone unturned in ensuring national security and public safety of Nigerians and foreigners alike.

Director, Press & Public Relations, Mohammed Manga, in a statement quoted the minister as saying, “the harmonization of the database has become imperative because of the present global security challenges and the urgent need for Nigeria to join the international community in the fight against transnational crimes and criminality”

The Minister further set up three Sub-Committees (Citizen Data Management and Harmonization, Central Crime Data Management and Harmonization, Limited and Temporary Visa Restrictions) for speedy and efficient delivery of the Presidential mandate as contained in the terms of reference of the Committee.

ALSO READ: Osinbajo, a pacesetter in nation’s judiciary ― Emir of Lafia

He charged members to immediately commence the review of the recent limited and temporary immigrant visa restrictions by the United States of America, develop and implement systems and processes that would address the security concerns raised by the US and submit their interim report on or before 14th February, 2020.

Aregbesola on behalf of the committee thanked the President for granting them the opportunity to serve the nation and assured that all hands will be on deck to ensure that the committee carries out its assignment in record time.

Members of the Committee present at the inaugural meeting include Minister of Interior, Chairman; Minister of Communication and Digital Economy; Minister of Foreign Affairs; Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning and Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice.

Others are Minister of Police Affairs; Governor of the Central Bank; Inspector General of Police; Comptroller-General, Nigeria Immigration Service; Director-General, State Security Services; Director-General, Nigeria Intelligence Agency; Director-General, National Identity Management Commission; and Director-General, National Population Commission.

Other members are Executive Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service; Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC); Corps Marshal, Federal Road Safety Commission; and Accountant General of the Federation.

The Presidential Committee is expected to prepare and submit its final report on or before 16th March, 2020.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More