Anambra Assembly holds last session, fixed June 12th for Inauguration

The Anambra State House of Assembly on Tuesday held its last session which followed the dissolution of the 7th Assembly that was constituted in 2015 and announced June 12, 2019, as the date for the inauguration of the 7th Assembly.

The dissolution of the House followed a letter of a proclamation from the State Governor, Chief Willie Obiano dissolving the House which was read by the Speaker, Barrister Mrs. Rita Maduagwu representing Nnewi South two constituency and adopted by members during the valedictory sitting.

Addressing members during the sitting, the Speaker, Mrs. Rita Maduagwu thanked members for their hard work and commitment to the legislative business which he said engendered a good working relationship with other arms of government in the state.

“I can proudly say that our legislation in the past four years has benefitted the good people of Anambra state through the cordial relationship between the Executive and the Legislative.

“I must also commend the House for working hard to make Anambra State to a higher level.

ALSO READ: JUST IN: Jibrin nominates Gbajabiamila for House Speaker’s contest

“For those who are not returning, I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours and for those returning, we urged you to brace up for the challenge ahead.”
She equally commended the sixth Assembly for performing wonderful well as it passed over 90 people oriented bills for the good and development of the state.

Madugwu who is not coming back to the house said, she served the house to the best of her ability, with the aim of adding her quota to the growth of the Institution and the state.
She asked for forgiveness from the flood, saying “If I had offended you in any way as a speaker. I render my unreserved apology, please consider it as part of my official duties. I could not have offended you outside my official calling.”

The Speaker also took time to remember late Hon. Francis Mmegbuaneze representing Idemili Noth State Constituency who died in August 2017 after a brief illness as well as a former member representing Onitsha South 1 Constituency, Hon. Patrick Aniunu who also died in the 6th Assembly.

Other Members including Hon. Chidi Linus Udemadu representing Ihiala two constituency, Hon. Laurence Ezeodu representing Dunokofia State constituency, Hon. Obbina Emenaka representing Anambra East constituency, during the valedictory sitting, took turns to eulogise each other and recounted their experiences in the House in the past four years.