2019: APC sets to take over Southeast Zone

THE leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Southeast zone has said the governorship election in Anambra State this year will be a litmus test, saying it would take over political land scape of the region in 2019

Speaking in Enugu on Monday at the formal inauguration of the APC Fund raising and disciplinary committee, the Zonal chairman of the party, Chief Emma Eneukwu said the Party would prove its mettle in the South-East during the forthcoming Anambra Governorship election.

He said, “We have a little challenge in the South-East; the present government has challenged South-East to prove their mettle.

“We have to prove that we belong to this country; they have pushed us to an edge where we will prove to them that Igbo man is a very strong pillar in Nigeria.”

He therefore, declared that “we shall deliver South-East to the APC, starting with the Anambra election.”

Earlier while harping on the need for the committees, Eneukwu stressed that financial muscle was needed to push the party ahead in the zone, adding organizational goals were achieved and sustained through maintenance of discipline and order.

“I am emboldened to say that without fear of contradiction, that the strength of our party is a direct function of the activities of these committees.

“We are conscious of the importance of the assignments embodied in these committees, and that informed our choice of men and women of outstanding credentials as members.

“These are persons who have succeeded in their various chosen careers, whose midas touches are needed by our party in South-East.

“We cannot thank them enough for accepting to work in these committees. We assure them of the cooperation of the Zonal Executive members and all the stakeholders and elders of the party in the zone, who approved their membership”, he said.

The fund raising committee, chaired by Chief Gbazuagu Nweke Gbazuagu, also include: Amara Iwuanyanwu, Sir Edward Nkwegu, Hon. Stanley Ohajuruka, Chief Makon Nlemigbo and Sir Chris Atuegwu.

The disciplinary committee is chaired by former Reps member, Hon. Uche Onyeagocha. Other members include former minister, Emeka Worgu, Ngozi Udodi, Chibuzor Obiako, Barr. Peter Okonkwo, Dr. Paul Okorie, among others.