Senate President swears in Ekpenyong as senator

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Thursday, swore in Christopher Ekpenyong as Senator representing Akwa Ibom North West.

This followed Ekpeyong’s victory at the rerun election ordered by the Court and conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Jan. 25.

This followed his victory at the last Saturday’s rerun elections which the All Progressive Congress (APC) did not participate.

APC’s failure to participate in the election followed a letter from INEC that the party cannot substitute a candidate for the rerun.

ALSO READ: APC guber candidate, Aliyu, commends INEC, security over Sokoto rerun

The Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Sen. Godswill Akpabio, who contested the Feb. 2019 National Assembly election as a sitting senator on the platform of the APC had dragged Ekpeyong to court.

Ekpeyong’s victory was cut short by the Court of Appeal which directed INEC to conduct a fresh poll.

News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Ekpeyong is a senator under the People’s Democratic Party.


You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More