Rerun: Inec to deploy 5,603 personnel in Imo, Kogi elections

THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will deploy 5,603 personnel for the conduct of outstanding rerun in Imo and Kogi states holding this Saturday.

This was contained in the daily bulletin of the commission which was made available to newsmen in Abuja, on Tuesday.

According to the bulletin, “for the Imo rerun, the commission will deploy 4,105 personnel to conduct elections into one  Senatorial District of Imo North and three  State Constituencies of Isiala Mbano, Oru East and Owerri West with a total of 390,311 registered voters in eight  local government areas, 64 Registration Areas and 817 polling units.”

It stated that a breakdown of personnel to be deployed indicated that INEC “will deploy one Returning Officer for the Senatorial District election; three Returning Officers for the State Constituency elections; eight Local Government Area Collation Officers; 78 Registration Area (RA) Collation Officers; 82 Supervisory Presiding Officers (SPOs); 817 Presiding Officers; 2,742 Assistant Presiding Officers (APOs).

The others are “175 Assistant Presiding Officers (VP); 146 Reserve APOs; 9 LGA Supervisors (plus one  reserve); 40 RA Cluster Supervisors and four  Constituency Supervisors (1SD; 3SC).”

According to it, “the Kogi State rerun will be conducted to fill vacancies into one Senatorial District of Kogi East and two state constituencies of Ofu and Idah, across eight  local government areas with a total of 140,297 registered voters in forty five  Registration Areas (RAs) and 236 polling units.”

The breakdown of personnel to man the elections are as follows: “One Returning Officer for the Senatorial District election; two Returning Officers for the state constituency elections; eight local government area Collation Officers; 45 Registration Area Collation Officers; (RA) 45 Supervisory Presiding Officers (SPOs); 236 Presiding Officers; 915Assistant Presiding Officers (APOs); 135 Assistant Presiding Officers (VP); 53 Reserve APOs; 9 LGA Supervisors (plus 1 reserve); 46 RA Supervisors (plus one reserve) and three Constituency Supervisors (1SD; 3SC).