Ekiti Assembly confirms seven Fayemi’s commissioner-nominees

The Ekiti House of Assembly has confirmed the nomination of seven commissioner-nominees forwarded to it by the state governor Dr Kayode Fayemi.

The unanimous confirmation took place during Tuesday’s plenary presided over by the Speaker, Mr Funmiyi Afuye.

Fayemi had last week forwarded the names of the nominees to the house for confirmation as commissioners ahead of the imminent cabinet reshuffle in the nearly two years of his administration.

Those confirmed include, Akin Omole (Oye LGA ), Chief Oladiran Adesua (Ekiti East LGA), Mr Akintunde Oyebode (Ikole LGA), Dr Olabimpe Aderiye, (Ido/Osi LGA), Mrs Maryam Ogunlade (Emure LGA) and Dr Oyebanji Filani(Ikole LGA).

The rest were, Olabode Adetoyi (Moba) and Mrs Iyabo Fakunle-Okhieme( Ilejemeje LGA)

The lawmakers asked the nominees various questions bordering on their professional competence, experience, and capacity to serve the state.

During the screening, the deputy Speaker, Hakeem Jamiu and Honourable Adeyemi Ajibade asked Adetoyi, being agricultural entrepreneur and expert, how he intended to transform the state from being an agrarian to a viable commercial agricultural state is assigned to the ministry of Agriculture.

The lawmakers hinged their questions on the need for food security during the post-COVID-19 pandemic.

ALSO READ: Professor Akintoye-led Yoruba World Congress removes Tola Adeniyi, Akingba, others as protem officials

The nominee answered, “I will ensure supervision of agricultural activities from the point of production to the point of marketing to encourage commercial agriculture and attract investors in the state.

” The country and Ekiti, in particular, can make agriculture her agricultural sector the main source of developing her economy.

In his remarks, Afuye who congratulated the nominees said all those nominated justified their being listed for cabinet positions.

He advised them to work cordially with the governor to better the lot of the state and strengthen the existing relationship between the executive and legislative arms of government.

Also, the House confirmed Mr Febisola Adewale as Commissioner, Ekiti Local Government Service Commission and Professor Femi Akinwumi as Chairman, Ekiti Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB)

The House at its Tuesday’s plenary also approved the request of Governor Fayemi to appoint seven new Special Advisers.

The motion for the approval was moved by Chief Gboyega Aribisogan, Majority Leader and seconded by Mr Deji Ajayi, Use/Orun Constituency.



You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More