9th NASS: 61 Senators-elect agree to vote Senator Lawan on Tuesday

Lawan hopeful of about 38 PDP Senators-elect, more endorsements on Monday

The coast is now clear for the crowning of Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan as the President of the Senate on Tuesday, 11th June 2019, as 60 Senators-elect from All Progressive Congress (APC) unanimously agreed to vote en-bloc.

Included on the 5-page endorsement list is Senator Ifeanyi Ubah of Young People Party (YPP).

At the event, the original copy of the signatures of all the 60 APC lawmakers and Senator Ubah of YPP were collated and handed over to Senator Lawan by Yahaya Abdullahi, Chairman of the Senator Ahmad Lawan Campaign Organisation.

On his part, Senator Ahmad Lawan who showered encomium on all the PDP Senators-elect who have endorsed him and agreed to vote for him as well as the APC Senators-elect and YPP Senator-elect expressed optimism that the team will get more endorsement before Monday, 10th June 2019.

He disclosed that between 35 to 39 PDP Senators-elect have already endorsed his candidature and agreed to vote for him on Tuesday, just as he expressed pleasure over the court ruling in favour of Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State.

While affirming that all the Senators-elect were contacted individually, irrespective of the political affiliations, Lawan disclosed that: “it was a conscious decision not to have their signature on the endorsement paper.”

Lawan who paid tribute to all the Senators-elect across the political divide for the confidence reposed in him to steer the ship of the 9th Senate expressed hope towards “a time when we (Senators) shall all sit like this.”

ALSO READ: 9th NASS: No retreat, no surrender as Bago, Onyejeocha, others dare APC, Gbajabiamila

While expressing his team’s resolve towards bringing everybody on board, the Yobe lawmaker assured that “we want to get there united and perform,” adding that “we have no time to waste in our quest to address real issues agitating the minds of Nigerians.”

According to Senator Barau Jibril, Secretary of the Senator Ahmad Lawan Campaign Organisation who announced the names, every Senator-elect who signed the endorsement list “agreed to vote collectively on the 11th June 2019, at the inauguration of the 9th Assembly.”

While noting that a total number of 64 Senators-elect signed on the endorsement list, Jibril disclosed that two of the Zamfara Senators-elect who signed have been sacked by the court, while “only two APC Senators-elect are yet to sign.”

Speaking earlier, Abdullahi, who applauded the relentless efforts of all the Senators-elect across all the political parties towards the success of the project.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More