9th NASS: No retreat, no surrender as Bago, Onyejeocha, others dare APC, Gbajabiamila

Arewa group demands candidate without baggage

As the race for the speakership of the 9th National Assembly hots up, five aspirants under the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), have vowed to run the race to the finishing point on the day of the inauguration despite the endorsement of Hon Femi Gbajabiamila by the party.

The aspirants include Umaru Mohammed Bago (Niger State), John Dyegh (Benue State), Olajide Olatunbosun (Oyo State), Emeka Nwajiuba (Imo State) and Nkeiruka Onyejeocha who is the only female aspirant in the race.

ALSO READ: 18 persons burnt to death in Ondo road accident

Speaking with Tribune Online during separate interviews while defending their individual actions, the lawmakers cited section 50(2)(b) of the constitution of the Federal Republic which stipulates that “members of the National Assembly shall elect from among themselves a President of the Senate and a Speaker of the House of Representatives with their deputies, all of whom must have cognate legislative experiences.”

This development came just as Northern-based rights group under the aegis of Arewa Progressives insisted the would-be speaker of the must be a transparent character without the baggage of corruption hanging on his or her neck and would be hunted by the past.

More details coming…

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More