Plateau gets 7 additional voter’s registration centres

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced on Tuesday that it had created seven additional voter’s registration centres in Plateau.

Prof Anthonia Simbini, National Commissioner in charge of Plateau, Niger, Kaduna and the FCT, announced the development in Jos, while monitoring the ongoing Continuous Voter’s Registration (CVR) in the state.

She said that the additional centres would minimise delays and encourage more people to register.

Simbini said that the new centres were created in areas with high population density with the three senatorial districts given two centres each, while a centre was created “at random”.

According to her, Jos North and Jos South took the two slots allocated to Plateau North, with Mangu and Pankshin taking those allocated to the Central Zone, while Quan Pan and Shendam took the Plateau South slots.

“We randomly added one to Wase Local Government because of the violence that hit that area in the last few years,” he said.

He commended officials handling the exercise for the success so far recorded, and restated INEC’s commitment to ensuring that no eligible voter was left out.

The official advised the people to take advantage of the exercise and get registered so as to participate in the next elections, and promised to tackle challenges observed in the exercise.

In his remarks, Mr Osaretin Imahiyereobo, the commission’s Head of Voters Education and Publicity in Plateau, said that the new centres would ease the exercise and address complaints over distance.

NAN reports that the commissioner visited Jos North, Jos South, Barkin Ladi and Bokkos Local Governments, where he monitored the exercise and met with officials handling it.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More