NJC appoints six Heads of Court, 27 other Judicial officers

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended 33 successful candidates for appointments as Heads of Courts, state high court judges and other Judicial Officers in Nigeria.

Rising from its meeting which ended on December 18, the Council considered the list of candidates presented by its Interview Committee and resolved to recommend to the Governors of Anambra, Kebbi, Cross River, Zamfara, Ogun, Osun, Rivers, Imo, Sokoto, Ekiti and Niger States, 33 successful candidates for appointment as Heads of Courts and other Judicial Officers in Nigeria.

A statement by the Director of Information of the NJC, Soji Oye, said Justice Onochie Manasseh Anyachebelu was appointed as Chief Judge of Anambra State, Justice Mohammed Suleiman Ambursa as Kebbi state Chief Judge and Justice Akon Bassey Ikpeme for Cross Rivers state.

Other appointments are Hon. Kadi Dahiru Muhammad Gusau as Grand Khadi, Zamfara state Sharia Court, Justice Mobolaji Ayodele Ojo, Customary Court of Appeal, Ogun state,  Justice Foluke Eunice Awolalu, Osun state Customary Court of Appeal and Justices Stephens Dirialakeibama Jumbo, Chuku Mark Onyema, Ngbor-Abina Lemea and Fibresima Florence Atili for Rivers state High Court.

ALSO READ: President Buhari commissions 628 police officers in Kano

Others are Olufunmilayo O. Stanley, Olukemi Olusola Yetunde Oresanya as Judges of Ogun state High Court as well as the appointment of Justices Onyeka Vincent Ifeanyichukwu, Leweanya Kechinyere A., Victoria Chinyere Isiguzo, Vivian O. B. Ekezie, Eze Nonye Eke, Ihuoma Grace Chukwunyere and Ibeawuchi Edith Chinyere for the Imo state High Court.

Oye also said in the statement that the Council, headed by the CJN, Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad appointed three judges for the Sokoto state High Court, namely, Justices Aminu Garba Sifawa, Mohammed Mohammed and Raliya Uthman Muhammad.

Justices Obafemi Makanju Fasanmi was appointed as a judge of Ekiti State High Court, Salisu Alhassan Majidadi,
Binta Bawa, Danladi Ahmad for the Niger state high court and Bello Khalid Jega as a Kadi, Kebbi state sharia Court of Appeal.

Amadi Ericonda was appointed as a Judge, Customary Court of Appeal, Rivers state, Michael Kolawole Peters, Anthony Olusesan Araba and Adebisi Olusola Femi-Segun as Judges of the Ogun state High Court.

While Justices Obichere Ijeoma Josephine and Nze Ifeanyi Tennyson were appointed as Judges of the Imo state Customary Court of Appeal, the NJC statement said all the recommended candidates are expected to be sworn-in after approval by their respective State Governors and confirmation by the respective State Houses of Assembly.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More