ICYMI: Ganduje appoints Sanusi chairman of Kano Emirate Council for two years

KANO State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, has appointed the Emir of Kano Emirate, Malam Muhammadu Sanusi II, as the Chairman, Kano State Council of Chiefs for a period of two years.

Other members of the State Council of Chiefs are the other four Emirs of Bichi, Rano, Karaye and Gaya.

According to a statement signed by Ganduje’s Chief Press Secretary, Comrade Abba Anwal, the appointment is with effect from Monday, December 9, 2019.

The governor also directed that the Chairman shall immediately summon the inaugural meeting of the Council in accordance with the provisions of the Law.

The statement said: “By the powers conferred on the Governor of Kano State, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, OFR, by Sections 4 (2) (g) and Section 5((1) (2) of the Kano State Emirate Councils Law 2019, he makes the following appointments; that His Highness, Alhaji Muhammadu Sanusi II, Emir of Kano Emirate, as Chairman Kano State Council of Chiefs.”

It further stated that other members of the State Council of Chiefs are all other Four First Class Emirs of Bichi, Rano, Karaye and Gaya, Alhaji Aminu Ado Bayero, Alhaji Dr Tafida Abubakar (Autan Bawo), Alhaji Dr Ibrahim Abubakar II and Alhaji Ibrahim Abdulkadir, respectively who are also automatic members of the Council, as enshrined in the State Emirate Council Law.

The statement also added that the Section 4(2) names other members to include Secretary to the State Government, Commissioner for Local Governments, five Chairmen of Local Government Councils from each of the Local Government Councils where the Emir’s palace is situated.

ALSO READ: Coalition gives Buhari 14 days ultimatum to release Sowore, others

Others, according to this Section, comprise at least ten kingmakers, two each from the five Emirates mentioned under Section 3(1) of the Law, Chief Imam of each Emirate.

Other members, as it was contained in the statement, include a representative of the Business Community from each Emirate.

Also, the Law stipulates, as members of the State Council of Chiefs, a representative of Security Agencies, the Police, State Security Service and Civil Defence Corps.

And not more than two other members to be appointed by the governor, the names of Alhaji Nasiru Aliko Koki is nominated as a member of the State Council of Chiefs, under this category. And then the Secretary of the Council who would be appointed by the Council of Chiefs.

Section 5(1), (2) of the Law provides that, the Chairmanship of the State Council of Chiefs shall be rotational among the Five Emirs of the Emirates and the sequence of which is to be determined by the governor and the Chairman shall serve for a period of two years only.

Governor Ganduje urges all the Council members to utilise the opportunity to serve the people in the state and to strengthen the Emirates and the traditional system of administration in the state in advising the state government, more particularly on security matters.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More