Lagos Assembly invites Sanwo-Olu’s nominees for final screening

The Lagos State House of Assembly has extended invitations to 11 nominees for the State Executive Council, Civil Service Commission and Lagos State House of Assembly Service Commission (LAHASCOM) for final screening on Thursday 16th January 2020.

The Speaker, Lagos State House Of Assembly, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa made this known during the presentation of the report of the 8-man Adhoc Committee on Screening of Governor’s Nominees at the Plenary session held yesterday in Lagos.

While presenting the report earlier, The Chairman of the 8-man Committee, Hon. Rotimi Abiru noted that the nominees met with the criteria.

Abiru stated that all the nominees were screened by the Committee on Friday 13th December 2019 and that they all answered the questions put to them and provided all the necessary documents.

In his ruling, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa said that there was no need to doubt the competence of the Committee as he said that they had done it in the past.

ALSO READ: Court orders Secondus, Obi to appear on Feb 10

“The nominees would still be invited by the House to defended their nominations and this would give us an opportunity to know their ability and capability,” Obasa said.

Meanwhile, the report of the Committee was then adopted as the resolution of the House and motion for its adoption was moved by Hon. Abiodun Tobun and supported by Hon. Victor Akande.

It would be recalled that the three commissioner-nominees screened by the Committee on Friday 13th December 2019 included Mr Ganiyu Ayuba, Mr Olugbenga Oyerinde and Bamigbose Martins.

The Assembly had on August 16th, 2019 rejected three of the cabinet nominees presented to it for approval by Sanwo-Olu necessitating their replacement.

Those rejected by the house included  Mr Ajayi Bembe, Mr George Obafemi and Prince Olanrewaju Sanusi.

The eight other nominees screened by the Committee included three for the state House of Assembly Service Commission and five for the state Civil Service Commission.

Those screened for the Assembly Service  Commission included Hon. Akeem Bello, a former member of the 8th Assembly, Hon. Kabiru Lawal,  a member of the House from 2007 – 2015 and Mr Richard Osungboye.

The nominees screened for the state Civil Service Commission were Mr Babatunde Seriki, a former member of the House, Hon. Avoseh Suuru, Mr Adesina Odeyemi, Mrs Olubunmi Fabanwo and Mr Kamalrudeen Olorunoje.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More