FCT sets up 22-man committee on cattle grazing, rustling

The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Administration, on Monday, constituted a high-powered technical committee to manage and curtail the menace of cattle grazing and rustling in the territory.

The committee is, however, to build on the works already done by similar committees set up by previous administrations in the area.

It is to study the recommendations of relevant committees of the past and also from the various MDAs and come up with harmonized implementable action plan and template that will guide how the FCT can have a very efficient system that guarantees safe living by all within the city and even the surrounding suburbs and Area Councils.

The FCT Minister, Malam Muhammad Musa Bello inaugurated the 22-Member Committee and said that the Committee should discuss with the various Secretariats, Departments and Agencies (SDA’s) to see what plans were already on ground within the FCT Administration for proper use of grazing reserves and to cater for farming communities.

The Minister noted that it was the decision of the FCT Administration as a responsible government to designate grazing reserves for who rear cattle in the FCT to prevent them from wandering into the city centre and obstructing traffic flow.

He said, “In a way, you will notice that what your committee is doing is being done by similar committees all over the country and particularly a national committee under the Inspector General of Police.

“So, I will expect that you would reach out to some of these Committees, especially those within the North Central geo-political zone or even the office of the Inspector General of Police to be able to leverage on some of their works and some of the information available to them

“At the end of the day, we want to have a territory that is very peaceful, that is vibrant economically and is a melting pot where everybody comes in and relates freely with the other party

“Your Committee will need to liaise very closely with the Ona of Abaji, Alhaji Adamu Baba Yunusa, who is the Chairman of the FCT Council of Chiefs, because at the end of the day, whatever recommendations you give us, the implementation has to be through the Council of Traditional Chiefs,” he added.

The Chairman of the Committee, Engr. Uthman Mohammed who responded on behalf of the members appreciated the confidence and trust the administration reposed in them.

He promised that the committee would take the assignment very seriously and work assiduously to achieve the set target.

The 22-Member Committee has Engr. Uthman Mohammed as Chairman and the Acting Secretary of the FCT Area Council Secretariat, Hajiya Amina Abubakar as Secretary.

Other members include the FCT Police Commissioner, FCT Director of DSS, Commandant, Brigade of Guards, FCT NSCDC Commandant, Chairmen of the Abuja Municipal, Bwari, Kuje and Gwagwalada Area Councils as well as the Ardo of Bwari, Kuje and Abuja Municipal respectively.

The Committee also has as members the Chairmen of Miyetti-Allah and Miyetti-Allah Kautal Hore, FCT Chapter respectively, Ag. Coordinator of the Abuja Metropolitan Management Council; Ag. Secretaries of FCT Area Council Services and Agriculture & Rural Development Secretariats respectively, Dr. Aminu Sa’ad, FCT Directors of Security as well as Information and Communications.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More