Bayelsa Assembly gets new speaker, deputy speaker

The Bayelsa State House of Assembly has elected, Rt. Hon. Abraham Ingobere, the member representing Brass Constituency 3 and Hon. Micheal Ogbere, representing Ekeremor Constituency 3 as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

Rt. Hon. Ingobere, a third-term legislator of the Peoples Democratic Party, took over from Rt. Hon. Monday Obolo, the member representing Southern Ijaw constituency 2.

ALSO READ: BREAKING: Bayelsa speaker steps down

Other elected principal officers are, Rt. Hon. Obolo, Majority Leader and Micheal Ogbere representing Ekeremor Constituency 3, Chief Whip.

In his remarks, the new elected Speaker said he is grateful for the house for electing him as the speaker and promised to run an all-inclusive government.

“I promise to work together with all the members of the Assembly irrespective of their political party, while working closely with the executive arm of the state government.

“I will ensure that the will of Bayelsa people are done, by implementing good policies, for the interest of the general public.”

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More