Court sentences 4 to death by firing squad in Ondo

A High Court sitting in Akure, the Ondo State capital on Tuesday sentenced four armed robbers who specialised in hijacking fuel tanker to death by firing squad.

The convicts who included: Abdurahman Yinusa, Maliki Sanni, Ajayi Saliu and Mohammed Jimoh were arrested in December, 2009, along Isua/Idoani expressway in Ose Local Government Area of Ondo State.

According to the prosecution counsel, Mr John Olowokere, the convicts hijacked a DAF truck with registration number XN 810 ABC laden with 33,000 litres of petrol but were arrested by men of the police command.

He explained that three of the accused drove the truck to an unknown destination to dispense the content while two other held the driver and the conductor as hostage

The convicts were on a four-count charge of conspiracy to commit armed robbery, armed robbery, murder and illegal possession of fire arms contrary to contrary to section 6(b) of the Robbery and Firearms (Special Provisions)Act R11, Laws of Federation 2004.

In his ruling, the presiding judge, Justice D.I. Kolawole of the Special Criminal High Court within Olokuta Medium Security Prison, said the prosecution counsel was able to prove the case against the accused beyond reasonable doubt.

He said the accused persons were guilty of some of the charges and then ordered that they should die by firing squad.