Buhari nominates Olabiyi Durojaiye as NCC chairman

• Appoints Adegbuyi Post-Master General

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has requested the Senate to confirm nominees into positions of Chairman, Executive Commissioner, and Non-Executive Commissioners of Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC).

Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, said in a statement issued in Abuja, on Tuesday, that in a letter dated August 2, 2016, sent to the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye (South West) was nominated as chairman, while Mr Sunday Dare (South-West) got the nod as Executive Commissioner, Stakeholders Management.

Those nominated as Non-Executive Commissioners were Aliyu Sa’idu Abubakar (North-East), Clement Omeiza Baiye (North-Central), Chief Okoi Ofem Obono Obla (South-South), Pastor Ezekiel Yissa (North- Central) and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume (South-East).

The nominations are in accordance with Section 8 (1) of the Nigerian Communications Commission Act 2003.

Also, the president has approved the appointment of Mr Bisi Adegbuyi as the Post-Master General/Chief Executive Officer of the Nigeria Postal Services.

This was contained in a statement by the Director of Press and Public Relations in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Bolaji Adebiyi and made available to newsmen on Tuesday, in Abuja.

The statement did not give details, but it was gathered that Adegbuyi, who hails from Ogun State, is a legal practitioner.