UPDATE: Buhari, APC governors meet behind closed-doors

President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday met with seven governors elected under the All Progressive Congress (APC) behind closed doors in the presidential villa, Abuja.

The present who returned from his hometown, Daura, Katsina state where he had voted in last Saturday’s state election, had the meeting as his first official engagement after five days in his state.

Present at the meeting were Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Abdulaziz Yari ( Zamfara), Abubakar Badaru, (Jigawa) Kashim Shettima (Borno) and Fayemi Kayode (Ekiti).

ALSO READ: Oyo gov: Breakaway APC faction, Unity Forum resolves to work for Adelabu

Even though the meeting was not announced and the agenda unknown, it was not unlikely they would have reviewed the performance of the party in the election and plot a way forward.

APC is currently battling to retain four of the six states where elections have been declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) with the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) having an edge in the hitherto ruling party’s strongholds.

The governors declined to offer any comments when approached by correspondents after the meeting.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More