UPDATE: Omo-Agege defeats 3-term Senate Deputy President, Ekweremadu 

After the emergence of Senator Ahmed Lawan  as the Senate President, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege (APC-Delta Central) and Senator Ike Ekweremadu (PDP-Enugu) were nominated for the office of the Deputy Senate President.
Both popular candidates contested for the exalted office after which sorting of the 105 votes cast began.
In the end, Omo-Agege emerged with 68 votes against 37 votes for Ekweremadu while one vote was voided and one abstained.
Omo-Agege became the sole candidate of APC following the decision of other APC aspirants to step down.
To the amazement of other APC Senators-elect, Senator Ike Ekweremadu was nominated to vie for the office of the Deputy Senate President which he occupied since 2003.
The nomination came barely 10 minutes after the emergence of Senator Ahmad Lawan as the 9th Senate President
After the conclusion of the election into the two offices, all the Senators-elect including PDP and YPP and APC party stalwarts took turn to congratulate the Senate President Ahmad Lawan and his deputy, Ovie Omo-Agege.
Meanwhile, one of the lawmakers who spoke under the condition of anonymity observed that some PDP Senators-elect gave Omo-Agege sympathy votes in demonstration of their disgust for the former Deputy Senate President’s “overstay in the office.”