PRP wins Bauchi federal constituency seat, defeats APC candidate

THE ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) in Bauchi State has again lost another seat in the National Assembly to the People Redemption Party (PRP).

While declaring the results of the Bauchi Federal Constituency late Monday evening at the INEC collation center in Bauchi, the Returning Officer for the election, Ibrahim Yakubu declared the candidate of the PRP, Abdullahi Yakubu Shehu as the winner having polled a total of 69,088 votes while his closest rival Comrade Mohammed Sabo of the ruling APC polled a total of 53,470 votes just as the PDP candidate, Aminu Garu emerged third with a total of 43’727 votes.

ALSO READ:  Alleged rape: Court remands father pending DPP advice

The Returning Officer declared that “the PRP candidate, Abdullahi Yakubu Shehu having certified the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner of the Bauchi Federal Constituency”.

With this result, Bauchi State APC has now lost two seats in the House of Representatives following the declaration of Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara of the PDP as the winner of the Dass/Tafawa-Balewa /Bogoro Federal Constituency.