Osun election tribunal set to deliver judgment in three cases September 2

The election petition tribunal sitting in Osogbo has set aside Monday, September 2, 2019 to deliver judgement in the petition filed by Hon. Adejare Bello challenging the election of Mr Bamidele Salam.

Salam, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 46, 944 votes during the February 2019 National Assembly election to defeat Bello of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who secured a total of 44, 866 votes.

Salam is currently representing Ede/Egbedore at the Federal House of Representatives in Abuja.

Bello, had in his petition alleged over-voting, irregularities and violence in some polling unit.

During the adoption of addresses by counsels on Wednesday, the petitioner sought the cancellation of the units where it alleged over-voting. He also sought to be declared the winner of the said election.

ALSO READ: Jumia to host NBA star, Andre Iguodala’s interactive session with techpreneurs

Beside, the tribunal also reserved judgement in the petitions filed by Mr. Daud Akinloye and Hon. Bosun Oyintiloye of the APC against the elections of Mr. Adewumi Kofoworola and Mr. Adeyemi Adewumi of the PDP.

Barrister Yinka Okedara, the lead counsel for the APC asked for the tribunal to declare his clients winners in the elections having polled the highest number of valid votes.

However, the counsel to the respondents urged the tribunal to dismiss the petitions, contending that it lacked merit.

The three-man panel is headed by Justice Kadi Yakub, while Justice Eyo Ita and Justice Ibrahim Mashi are members.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More