OPC formally honours Awolowo, others with Award as heroes of democracy

Celebrates 25th anniversary

Oodua People’s Congress (OPC) led by Iba Gani Adams, the Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yoruba land, Gani Adams, on Thursday in Lagos formally honoured the sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo, with posthumous awards of hero of democracy.

The sage along with 20 other prominent Nigerians both dead and living, including former Governor Adekunle Ajasin, late Chief Gani Fawehinmi, Prof Wole Soyinka, Mr. Femi Falana (SAN), among others were presented with the awards at a colourful ceremony which took place at an event centre at Billing Way, Oregun area of the state and attended by prominent Nigerians.

ALSO READ: Buhari seeks Japanese support to combat piracy

The event was in celebration of the 25th Anniversary of the self-determination group which was formed on August 29, 1994, to protest and ensure restoration of the annulled June 12, 1993, presidential poll that was won by the late business mogul, Chief MKO Abiola.

The award for Awolowo, which was received on his behalf by Mr Sina Oladeinde and Dr Lasisi Olagunju, both Sunday Tribune and Saturday Tribune editors respectively, was presented by the elder statesman, Chief Ayo Adebanjo.

Presenting the award, Chief Adebanjo, a very close political ally of the sage, paid glowing tributes to the former president of Western Region, describing him as a very faithful and committed democrat, whose interest was about a united and prosperous Nigeria.

Details later.

You might also like