Ondo guber: Commissioner resigns from cabinet

Ahead of the governorship election in Ondo State, the state commissioner for Environment and Mineral Resources, Honourable Sola Ebiseni, on Monday, resigned his appointment from the state executive cabinet.

Ebiseni, in his resignation letter, dated July 11, expressed appreciation to the state governor, Dr Olusegun Mimiko, for the opportunities given him to serve the state in various other capacities.

The former commissioner, who had spent six years as a commissioner under Mimiko, said he served as “Chairman of the state Law Commission, twice as Commissioner in your cabinet, recommending me as a delegate of the South West to the 2014 National Conference and for being your preferred representative in several critical political engagements.

“To the Glory of God, there is no doubt that these positions have positively impacted the lives of our people and offered me the unique opportunity to etch my name and service indelible in the sand of time.

“Recall sir, our meeting earlier in the year, wherein I sought and obtained Your Excellency’s approval for me to consult with and engage our party members and other stakeholders of my intention to serve our dear state in the capacity of governor at the expiration of Your Excellency’s tenure.”

“In furtherance of the said endeavours and our latest discussion along the same line, I do hereby most respectfully convey my resignation forthwith as a Commissioner in the government of Ondo State.

“May I put on record, the robust relationship we have shared in the service of our people beginning from the early 1990s where, as members of the then Social Democratic Party, I served as elected Chairman of the Ilaje/Ese Odo Local Government and Your Excellency then as a state Commissioner.

“Providence was to bring us together later as commissioners in the cabinet of the late Chief Adebayo Adefarati.”

Ebiseni added that  “with confidence in God, the author of my unalterable destiny, as I step out in further engagement of our party members, structures and other stakeholders in the land, with my mind on the ultimate mandate of our people, your prayers and invaluable support as the leader of our great party, still I crave.”

Nigerian Tribune, however, gathered that two other commissioners may also tender their letters of resignation to contest for the coveted position.

According to a government official, the two commissioners include the present Attorney General and Justice Commissioner, Eyitayo Jegede, SAN and the Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Commissioner, Bamiduro Dada.

The three cabinet members have signified their intentions to succeed the incumbent governor after the expiration of his tenure.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More