Oluyole High School celebrates 40th anniversary, alumni donate borehole, chairs 

THE students of Oluyole High School, Ibadan, last Saturday, celebrated its 40th anniversary, while its alumni under the aegis of Oluyole High School Alumni Association (OHSAA), at the event, donated chairs and tables as well as a borehole to the school.

The occasion which was the first of its kind and organised by OHSAA, attracted members from different fields of endeavours across states of  Nigeria and other parts of the world, including the United Kingdom  and the United States.

The celebration brought back fond memories as the alumni reunited with their former teachers, while old students used the opportunity to remind the present students of the school’s history, as well as and their primary responsibility as students.

Projects executed and inaugurated by OHSAA at the event were 40 chairs and tables of which 15 were donated by Mary Olanrele Funke Foundation (MOFF); a borehole and a convenience facility comprising four toilets and four urinaries for male and female students.

Speaking to Nigerian Tribune at the end of the event, the chairman, planning and execution committee, Adebanjo Abigbesan, said: “we felt it was time to give back to humanity. We chose the 40th anniversary to round off some projects in the school which you have seen. We are still planning some other things in the future. We are going to renovate the school. In conjunction with the government, we will make the school better.”

Later in the day, the celebration moved from the school premises to an award/dinner venue for the recognition of outstanding members of the association as well as past and some current staff members of the school.

Those recognised are Omatsola Mene; Mr Adekunle Oriyomi; Mrs Kemi Adewakun; Tunde Akinkulugbe; Dare Akindele; Mrs Bukola Ajasa; Dr Akeem Fatola; Mr Segun Ogunbanwo and Adebanjo Obigbesan.

Mr Isiaka sule; Dr Johnson Adesola; Pastor Oluwagbenga Ogunsakin; Taiwo Fawole; Dr Olusegunmade Falade and Alhaji Waheed Balogun were also recognised for their outstanding dedication and commitment to the development of the school.

The pioneer and present principals of the school, Mrs Eunice Aderoju and Mrs Bolanle Adeleke respectively were also presented with awards.

Speaking earlier, Mrs Aderoju charged the present students to uphold the great history of the school and make it the envy of other students in the state, while reminding the teachers that they should be role models for the students, saying, “repositioning the school is a task for all.”

According to her, the school still lacks History, Home Economics, Chemistry, Creative Arts and Literature in English teachers as well as books for its library.


ICYMI: CBN Lists Business Activities Eligible For N75bn Youth Investment Fund

THE Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has revealed main business activities and sectors in the Nigerian economy that are eligible to access its N75 billion Youth Investment Fund…

#EndSARS: Fr Mbaka Asks Buhari, Past Leaders To Apologise To Nigerians

Controversial Catholic priest and Spiritual Director of Adoration Ministry, Enugu, Nigeria, (AMEN), Rev Fr Ejike Mbaka, has taken a swipe at President Muhammadu Buhari and past leaders of the country demanding that the President should apologize to the country, especially the youth, on behalf of himself and his predecessors, for causing Nigerians so much pain…

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More