Obaseki wins as tribunal dismisses AA petition

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State on Friday crossed the first huddle in his bid to retain the victory of his second term in office as the Edo State Governorship Election Petition just as tribunal dismissed the petition filed by Action Alliance (AA) party challenging the victory of the governor in the September 19, 2020, gubernatorial election on the ground that the AA and its candidate were excluded from the race.

The tribunal was unanimous in its judgement.

In defending Obaseki’s victory at the poll before the tribunal, both the governor and his party, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, had on Monday, argued that the petitioner, having failed to file for issuance of pre-hearing notice which is one of the conditions required by the Electoral Act 2010, it was deemed to have abandoned its case and prayed the tribunal to dismiss the petition, which they contended was not in existence by virtue of that fatal error.

The tribunal consequently adjourned to ruling on the matter to yesterday, Friday, December 11, 2020.

Delivering the unanimous ruling, Justice Chukwudi Nwankwo, who read the ruling, with the Chairman of the Tribunal, Justice Abdulrazak Abdulkareem, and the third judge, Justice Josephine Ayua, sitting, held that in the petition against the first and second respondents, the petitioners failed to file the pre-hearing notice.

As a result of the failure, the judge ruled that the petitioners were deemed to have abandoned the petition and, thereafter, dismissed the suit.

The petition is one of five filed by various individuals and their political parties at the Tribunal in their bid to nullify the victory of Governor Obaseki in the poll.

Others include the petition of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) and its governorship candidate, Emmanuel Iboi, against INEC, PDP, Governor Obaseki, as well as the All Progressives Congress (APC) and its candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu; and the petition of the Allied Peoples’ Movement (APM) against INEC, PDP, Governor Obaseki, and his deputy, Philip Shaibu.

The remaining two petitions are that of Agol Ebun Tracy against INEC, PDP and Governor Obaseki, and the petition of the Action Peoples Party (APP) against Governor Obaseki, PDP, and INEC.


#EndSARS: As British Parliament Hears Petition, UK Govt Says It Won’t Speculate On Sanctions

The British Parliament at the Westminster Hall held a debate on ‘e-petition 554150, relating to Nigeria and the sanctions regime’ on Monday. The government of the United Kingdom has however responded…

2023 Presidency: APC Govs’ Meeting With Jonathan Sparks Controversy

The surprise visit made on Friday night by the leaders of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to former President Goodluck Jonathan at his residence in Abuja triggered a stir in the major political camps, resulting in at least four possible theories..


You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More