Nwifuru, Obasi re-elected as Speaker, deputy of Ebonyi Assembly

Ebonyi State House of Assembly has re-elected house leaders of the immediate past assembly, Hon. Francis Nwifuru and Hon. Odefa Obasi as Speaker and deputy respectively.

Nwifuru, a third-term lawmaker and Obasi a four-term lawmaker emerged during the inauguration of the 6th assembly held at the Assembly complex, Nkaliki road, Abakaliki on Monday.

Governor Dave Umahi had inaugurated the assembly with a letter of proclamation which was read by the Clerk of the House, Patricia Anasi just before the election of the principal officers.

Anasi who presided over the sitting, thereafter, administered oaths of office on Nwifuru and Obasi as Speaker and Deputy respectively.

Other principal officers of the House announced at plenary include Victor Chukwu as Leader of the House (Ezza North West), Kingsley Ikoro as Deputy Leader (Afikpo North West), Humphrey Nwuruku as Chief Whip (Ikwo North) and Benjamin Ezeoma as Deputy Chief Whip (Ebonyi North West).

ALSO READ: Oborevwori re-emerges as 7th Delta Assembly Speaker

In his acceptance speech, the new Speaker described the election as transparent and promised speedy passage of bills.

He solicited the cooperation of the members of the House for robust lawmaking and development of the state.

Nwifuru promised to uphold transparency and accountability in leading the Assembly, assuring that the welfare of the members will be his utmost priority.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More