NDIC’s new board promises sound policies, financial safety

MEMBERS of the newly inaugurated Board of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) have stated their commitment to the formulation of sound policies to enhance the safety and stability of the nation’s financial system as a way of justifying the confidence reposed in them through their appointment.

The Chairman, Mrs Ronke Shokefun stated this at the opening ceremony of the maiden retreat for members of the Board in Abuja. As a critical member of the Nigeria financial safety net, Mrs Shokefun said the new Board is committed to providing the NDIC with the desired leadership required to enable the nation achieve its goal of becoming one of the top twenty economies in the world by Year 2020.

In her words: “As people of proven integrity, we are to collectively paddle the boat of NDIC in particular and that of the nation’s banking sector in general to safety. We owe this very important organisation and the nation that duty in order to justify the confidence reposed in us by His Excellency, President Muhammadu Buhari”.

ALSO READ: 2019 elections : IPAC Appeals for violence free conduct

The Chairman according to a statement signed by Mohammed kudu Ibrahim head, Communication & public affairs described the role of the Board as critical in the achievement of the Corporation’s mandate. She added that the retreat will enable members gain full insight into the Corporation’s mandate, its operations, achievements and challenges. She concluded that the induction program will provide the Board with the in-depth Knowledge required for the formulation of policies to ensure enhanced service delivery by the Corporation.

Earlier before the commencement of the retreat, the NDIC Managing Director/Chief Executive, Umaru Ibrahim expressed the hope that the retreat will provide the new Board with the critical information and insight on the activities of the Corporation ahead of their assumption of office.

It should be remembered that the Senate in December 2018 confirmed the appointment of Mrs. Ronke Sokefun as Chairman of the Board of the Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation.

Other members of the NDIC board include Barrister Festus Keyamo, SAN, Alhaji Garba Bello, Bri-Gen. Josef O. J. Okoloagu, Mustapha Adewale Mudashiru, Mr. Adewale W. Adeleke.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More