Maltina teacher-of-year award yielding results ― FG

•As 2019 edition begins

The Federal Government, on Thursday, in Lagos, commended Nigerian Breweries Plc, organiser and sponsor of Maltina Teacher of -the Year Award competition among teachers in both the public and private secondary schools nationwide, saying the initiative is yielding great dividends.

The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Mr  Sunny Echonno, gave the remark at a ceremony to announce the commencement of the 2019 edition of the award with major stakeholders including the latest winner, Mr Olasunkanmi Opeifa, an English Language teacher at Government Day Secondary School, Karu, Abuja, in attendance.

Represented by the Director, Basic Education Services and former Principal of Queen’s College, Lagos, Dr Lami Amodu, Echonno said the five-year-old annual award had really boosted teaching and learning as well as education and economic development in Nigeria.

ALSO READ: FUTA emerges best institution at national statistics competition

He, however, called on other corporate organisations and individuals to do likewise by joining hands with the government to move the country education to an appreciable height.

Speaking earlier, the Corporate Adviser of Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mrs Shade Morgan,

Noted that the company, instituted the competition in 2015 under its social arm-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund- to identify and showcase secondary school teachers who have distinguished themselves in imparting right knowledge and character in their students considered to be future leaders.

She said interested applicants could start submitting entries which is free from Friday (yesterday) and have up to July 22 to do that through a dedicated website and the independent jurists in academic would assess their entries and carry out other practical assessments of their work and persons.

While disclosing that another concept which she called “That Teacher” using social media engagement by their students had been added this year, she said a total of 500 and 641 entries were received nationwide in 2017 and 2018  MTY editions respectively and that more entries are expected this year.

Morgan said the prize for the overall winner of the competition remains a cumulative of N6.5 million distributed as N500,000 as a state champion, N1 million as a national champion and another N5 million to be spread for consecutive five years equally and also a short course training overseas, while his or her school get a block of six classrooms and a library.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More