Law School DG, 21 others now SANs

The Director-General of the Nigerian Law School, Mr Olanrewaju Adesola Onadeko and 21 other senior lawyers have been conferred the prestigious rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN) by the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee.

Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court of Nigeria and the secretary to  the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, Ahmed Gambo Saleh, who disclosed this to newsmen on Monday, said a total of 131 legal practitioners applied for the SAN rank, out of which 55 names were shortlisted.

Saleh said out of the 55 lawyers who made it to the final stage, 22 were appointed for the conferment of the SAN rank by the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, headed by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Mahmud Mohammed.

The senior lawyers who will be conferred with the prestigious SAN title on September 19 alongside Olanrewaju Adesola Onadeko are Nnamonso Udo Ekanem, Professor Muhammed Tabiu, Dr Valerie-Janette Ogonna Azinge and Olufunke Abimbola Agbor.

Others are Olusola Oladimeji Ojutalayo, Richard Ayodele NjeAkintunde, Oyesoji Gbolahan Oyeleke, James Onyeanwuna Njeze Ikeyi, Elisha Yakubu Kurah, Adewunmi Adedeji Ogunsanya, Olatubosun Ola Olanipekun and chief Kalu Ikwuonwu Umeh.

Also on the list are Adewale Sunday Adesokan, Andrew Chukwuemeka Igboekwe, Fredson Chijioke Alexander Okoli, Olaseni Abiodun Adio, Olasheni Ibiwoye, Abdulhakeem Uthman Mustapha, Mba Ekpezu Ukweni, Edward Gyang Pwajok and Prof. Chukwu Amari Omaka.

According to the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, the lawyers would be sworn in on September 19, and the total number of SAN in the country would step up to about 450.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More