Kwara Govt inaugurates committee on healthcare fund

THE Kwara Government has inaugurated a State Steering Committee (SSC) to ensure the effective implementation of the Basic Healthcare Provision Fund (BHCPF).

Inaugurating the committee on Wednesday in Ilorin, the state Commissioner for Health, Alhaji Usman Rifun-Kolo, said Kwara was one of the first states that signified interest to the Federal Government in accessing the BHCPF.

He explained that before the fund would be accessed, a committee must be inaugurated on how the funds would be spent in the state.

ALSO READ: LG Chairman flags off free medical health care services

Rifun-Kolo stated that the committee would meet quarterly to provide cross-functional leadership, strategic operational directions, ensure programme visibility and serve as an advocacy group for the BHCPF in the state.

According to him, the committee will also review updates on fund flow, performance management and verification of result provided by the state implementing agencies.

“The committee shall also review patient’s satisfaction based on the feedback obtained through the grievance redress mechanism,” he said.

The SSC members are Dr Olufunmilayo Jetawo-Winters, Director-General of State Hospital Management Bureau, and Mr Emeka Ajanwachukwu, Director Health Plans, Pharm-Access Foundation.

Others include Mr Bello Olaitan, representing the National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS), and the Managing Director of Bioraj, Mr Bioku Rahamon.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More