JUST IN: David Lyon clinches Bayelsa APC governorship ticket

Chief David Lyon has emerged the flagbearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC), for the November 16 Bayelsa State Governorship election.

According to the results announced by the Collation Officer, Senator Emmanuel Ocheja, Lyon polled a total of 42,138, votes to defeat five other aspirants.

Mrs Desiye Nsirim came a distant second with 1,533, while Chief Ebitimi Amgbare came third with 633 votes.

ALSO READ: Insecurity: Police partnership with OPC will bring needed peace in South West ― Alaafin 

Senator Heineken Lokpobiri polled 571 votes to come fourth while Prof Ongoebi Etebu and Prince Preye Aganaba got 564 and 354 votes respectively.

Senator Ocheja, who was flanked by other national and state officers of the party said he was standing in for the Returning Officer and former Governor of Yobe State, Ibrahim Gaidam, who he disclosed was unavoidable absent.

He pointed out that six aspirants contested the election, adding that the mode of the primaries was ‘Direct Primaries’ ‘Option A-4’ adopted by the state stakeholders and leaders of the party in the state and ratified by the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the party.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More