June 12: Buhari confers honours on Abiola, Fawehinmi, Kingibe Tuesday

MKO Abiola

FOLLOWING the historic designation of June 12 as Democracy Day and National Holiday, President Muhammadu Buhari, President, will confer Posthumous national honours on Chief M.K.O. Abiola as Grand
Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR), Chief Gani Fawehinmi as the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha, conveyed this on Friday in a statement in Abuja.

He added Buhari will also decorate Ambassador Babagana Kingibe with the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON), at an investiture scheduled to take place on Tuesday, June 12 2018.

The venue of the investiture according to the statement is the Conference Hall, State House, Aso Rock Villa, Abuja at 10.00 am.

SGF said accordingly, Ambassador Babagana Kingibe , the family of the late Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola and that of Chief Gani Fawehinmi , along with the underlisted key players of June 12 struggle were cordially invited.

Prominent among those invited is the Nobel Laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka, Human Rights Lawyer, Femi Falana (SAN) and the National leader of All Progressive Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, among others.

Others according to the statement are: “Members of the National Executive Committee of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) including States Chairmen and Secretaries at the time of June 12, 1993.

“Governors elected under SDP platform, former Senate Presidents – Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute and Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with Principal Officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform.

“Speakers of the States Assembly elected under SDP platform, all Chairmen of the States Traditional Councils from the six South-Western States.

“Chief Bisi Akande, Ms. Ayo Obe,
Bayo Onanuga – The News, Kunle Ajibade – Tempo, Nosa Igiebor – Tell, Kayode Komolafe – Media Hope 93, Senator Janathan Zwingina – DG Hope 93, Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori, and Prof. Humphrey Nwosu.

Also invited are Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, Principal Officers of the National Assembly, Members of the Federal Executive Council and all State Governors.

Mustapha noted that accommodation has been reserved for all invitees at the NICON Luxury Hotel, Tafawa Balewa Way, area 11, Garki, Abuja from Monday, 11th June 2018.

“For further inquiries please contact William Alo, Permanent Secretary, Special Duties Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation by telephone on +234 803 585 4332. Invitation letters have been despatched.

“However, should the invitation arrive late, this publication serves as a formal invitation,” he said.

You might also like
Front Page Today

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More