Gombe gov inaugurates committee on review of state owned tertiary institutions

Gombe State Governor, Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya has inaugurated an 11 member Committee on Tertiary Institutions in the state stating that the state has of recent witnessed a phenomenal and ambitious proliferation of Tertiary Institutions, which ordinarily should be viewed as a positive development.

While inaugurating the Committee on Wednesday in Gombe, the Governor stated however that, to the critical mind, there appears more questions than answers associated with the establishment of these institutions in the areas of funding, provision of infrastructure equipment and facilities, meeting manpower requirements, their relevance and sustainability plans among others.

He declared that “it is our Government’s genuine desire to address these challenges and other concerns associated with the creation of the Institutions. We strongly believe that establishing Institutions must be the best relevance in tandem with immediate socio-economic needs and reality of the State”

ALSO READ: Man docked for allegedly stealing policewoman’s N62,000

The Governor added that “You would agree with me that our young State has numerous competing interest and demands considering its meagre financial resources. This, without doubt, has direct implication for the overall drive of the State”.

Inuwa Yahaya added that “As a responsible Government, we cannot claim ignorance of the need for taking bold steps toward correcting the anomalies that are glaring in the distribution of development across the State in the best interest of our people”.

“We are aware of the genuine concern of our people, this more so the reason behind the constitution of this powerful committee of eminent people in order to review the establishment of the Institutions and advise Government on the way forward. Let me reiterate that, we have no ill feelings about their establishment but as a Government of change, we must be seen to address you on the issues that could hamper speedy development and growth of our State”, he stated further.

The Governor then stressed that, “For the avoidance of doubt, the Tertiary Institutions to be covered are:- Gombe State College of Education Billiri,  Gombe State Polytechnic Bajoga, Gombe State College of Legal and Islamic Studies Nafada, Gombe State College of Nursing and Midwifery Dukku, and Gombe State University of Science and Technology Kumo.

The terms of reference of the Committee according to the Governor are:- To review the establishment of the Institutions from inceptions to date; Assess the potentials and relevance or otherwise of the Institutions to the educational and overall socio-economic development needs of Gombe State; Assess the viability and sustainability of the Institutions considering the financial resources and status of the State, especially in view of the heavy debt overhang (about N120bn), the Local Government autonomy as it may affect the place of Joint Account (JAC) in the management of funds and the Nigeria Financial Intelligence Unit’s (NFIU) regulations currently being enforced by the Federal Government;

The Committee is also to prioritise the need of the State in term of basic vocational and tertiary education with a view to sharing the resources available; Make such other recommendations as the Committee may deem fit under the circumstances, and submit its report to the Government within Thirty days (30 days).

He also said that “you will agree with me that we have made the right choice considering the calibre and pedigree of the members of this Committee that are drawn from the academic, political and public sectors. I have no doubt that the Committee would carry out its assignment with due diligence in the best interest of our dear State”.

ALSO READ: UBEC lauds Kogi SUBEB over projects implementation

He, therefore, urged members of the Committee to live above sentiment and other petty considerations saying, “You should bring your individual wealth of experience to bear in the discharge of this very important responsibility. You may conduct a public hearing and/or seek memoranda from the public in order to assist in examining and addressing all concerns and feelings relating to the establishment of these Institutions in Gombe State”.

Members of the Committee are Prof. Buba Bajoga as Chairman,  Sen. Saidu Umar Kumo, Sen. Haruna Garba, Prof. Rufai Ahmed Alkali, Prof. Sani Abba Aliyu mni, Prof. Istifanu Williams, Prof. Nebath Tanglang Prof. Nana Tanko, Dr Gidado Bello Kumo, Dr Japheth D. Konni and Barr. Robert Wabida Lenus as Member/Secretary.

In his remarks, Chairman of the Committee, Professor Buba Bajoga assured that a thorough and unbiased approach will be adopted in carrying out the assignment calling on the people of the state to support and cooperate with the Committee in order to make its assignment easier.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More