Flood: Ondo govt inaugurates committee

Following the flood which ravaged the coastal communities in Ondo state, the state government has inaugurated a 12 man committee to evolve a strategy to control flooding in the two local government of the coastal area of the state.

This was contained in a statement issued and signed by the Senior Special Assistant to the Governor (Media and Publicity), Mr Ojo Oyewamide, he said the steps became necessary to proffer solution to the flooding challenges confronting the people of the region.

The two committees which are put in place by the state government, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu, are to work hand in hand and tour the two affected local government areas and assess the extent of damage wrecked by the flood.

Oyewamide said in the statement that: “as a result of the flash floods that have adversely affected most communities, especially in the riverine areas of the state, Governor Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu has constituted two ad-hoc teams to carry out an assessment tour of communities so affected by this unforeseen natural disaster.

ALSO READ: Activist calls for investigation of vandalised NIPP project in Kogi

“Among others, the teams are to ascertain the impact of the floods; the number of communities affected; public property affected; the extent of damage to communities and suggest measures that could assist the state in her pursuit for succour from the Federal Government through the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

“According to the Governor, the two teams must commence work immediately and report back not later than Tuesday, October 15, 2019”.

The governor, however, expressed his deep concern over this national phenomenon “even as he shares in the pains of all such affected communities.”

Members of the committee included; the Special Adviser on Niger Delta, Hon Oyebo Aladetan, as the team leader, the Chairman OSOPADEC, Hon Gbenga Edema, Hon. Lucky Ayedatiwa,  Otito Atikase, Chairman Ilaje local.government, Hon. Olumide Ikuepenikan, Commissioner, OSOPADEC and Hon Felix Rawa SSA Riverine and Community Relations.

Other members of the committee for Ese Odo local government area include;  Chief Olugbenga Ale, Chief of Staff to the governor as the team leader. Others include Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Donald Ojogo, Special Adviser Health, Dr Jibayo Adeyeye.

Four Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Hon. Omolewa Shadrack Ojo, Chairman Ese-Odo local government, Hon. Kele Bolodeoku, SSA Community Mobilisation.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More