BREAKING: Saraki loses senatorial seat to APC’s Oloriegbe in Kwara

Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, has lost his seat as Senator representing Kwara central senatorial district of Kwara state under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to his longtime political arch-rival, Dr Yahaya Oloriegbe, of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

In the general elections conducted on Saturday, the Senate President lost in all the four local government areas that make up Kwara Central senatorial district, namely Asa, Ilorin West, Ilorin East and Ilorin South local government areas.

The winner, Oloriegbe polled 15,932 votes to defeat the incumbent senator with 11, 252 votes in Asa local government area.

In the Ilorin East local government area, APC polled 30, 014 and PDP scored 14, 654.

In the Ilorin South local government area, APC polled 26,331, while PDP scored 13,013.

In the Ilorin West local government area, APC polled 51,531, while PDP got 30,075.

It was gathered that APC members, had trooped onto major streets in Ilorin metropolis celebrating the victory of the APC candidate, Oloriegbe even before the official announcement of the results.

You might also like
Front Page Today

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More