Bauchi 2019 guber race: 27 candidates challenge Mohammed Abubakar

BauchiGOING by the list released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Friday, 27 candidates are challenging the incumbent Governor of Bauchi State, Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar for the gubernatorial seat in the 2019 general elections.

According to the list, Mohammed Abubakar who is running for reelection with his present Deputy, Audu Sule Katagum will face a stiff competition from the candidate of the main opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Bala Abdulkadir and his running mate, Senator Baba Tela, as well as the duo of Shuaibu Adamu Ahmed and his running mate Adamu Umar Ahmed who are the flag bearers of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), as well as Mohammed Ali Pate and Aliyu Ladan Mohammed, are the candidates of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP).

Other contenders for the gubernatorial seat are Baheejah Mahmoud and Umar Hamza of the Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD); Abbass Abubakar Abbass and Garba Abubakar of the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN); Aliyu Mahmud and Auwal Ahmad Babaji of the Alliance for Democratic (AD); Bulus Yohanna and Mohammed Kawu Alhaji of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) as well as well candidate of the African Democratic Party (ADP), Hussaini Sulaiman Saraki and his running mate, Mahmud Aminu.

ALSO READ: I will continue to campaign, whether INEC publishes my name or not —Adebutu

Auwal Isah and Aliyu Zakari are running under the Allied Peoples Movement (APM) while Kabiru Isiyaku and Abdulhamid Kabiru Adamu are flying the ticket of the Action Peoples Party (APP): Abdulkadir Garba Muhammad and Sani Baba are running the race under the banner of the Alliance for Social Democrats (ASD) just as Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP) has Zaidu Mati and Aliyu Kabiru as its flag bearers.

For the Change Advanced Party (CAP) Rabiu Abubakar Ahmad and Salihu Sani are the candidates while Democratic Alternative (DA) has Muhammad Iliyasu Abdulrazak and Haruna Sale as candidates; Aliyu Umar and Sani Muhammad Bauchi are to fly the flag of Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC) just Mohammed Jumba and Ahmad Mala Madara are for the Green Party of Nigeria (GPN).

Others in the race for the gubernatorial seat are, Muhammad Bello Yusuf and Adamu Ubaiyo for the Kowa Party (KP); Usman Ismaila Yalwa and Alhaji AbdulQadiri Duwala of Mass Action Joint Alliance (MAJA); Gidado Muhammad and Adamu Abdullahi are running under the Mass Movement of Nigeria (MMN) while the Mega Party of Nigeria (MPN) has Mohammed Aminu Hassan and Muhammad Ilu as its candidates.

For the National Rescue Movement (NRM), Umar Adamu Yusuf and Abdullahi Abubakar are the candidates; People for Democratic Change (PDC) has Hassan Umar Usman Galambi and Suleiman Abdulraham as its flag bearer; Bello Saidu Abubakar and Ahmed Bappah Naziru are running under the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN); Aminu Mohammed and Usman Abdullahi Umar are the candidates of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

Completing the list are the candidates of Sustainable National Party (SNP), Balarabe Sanusi and Hassan Chiroma Shuaibu; United Party of Nigeria (UPN), Idris Ahmad and Hajiya Fati Ali as well as Musa Mato and Ibrahim Ishaku of United Peoples Party (UPP).

Meanwhile, political observers are of an opinion that the gubernatorial race in Bauchi State in 2019 will be a hot one considering the calibre of some of the candidates of the major political parties with all those who reacted to the list as released by INEC believe that the outcome will be too close to call.