Aregbesola grants amnesty to 3 prisoners on death row, 2 other convicts

GOVERNOR Rauf Aregbesola has granted amnesty to three prisoners on death row and two other convicts, hitherto sentenced to life imprisonment serving their term at Kirikiri Maximum Security Prison, in Lagos State and Federal Prison, located in Ilesa.

This was contained in a press statement signed by the Osun State Commissioner of Justice and Attorney General, Dr Ajibola Basiru, which was obtained by the Nigerian Tribune in Osogbo.

According to the statement, “pursuant to the advice and recommendations of the State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy, the Governor of Osun State, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, exercising his powers under the section 212 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended), has released five prison inmates.

The statement further reads “Aregbesola has graciously granted amnesty to the prison inmates, This was contained in the statement signed by the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice Dr Ajibola Basiru”, stressing that the governor was committed to “justice sector reforms and prison decongestion”.

ALSO READ: Abuja 2010 bomb blast: Group seeks pardon for convicted Edmund Ebiware

“Herein under listed and presently, serving their jail terms at Federal Prison, Ilesa and Maximum Security Prison, Kirikiri Lagos are the freed prisoners: Akeem Afolahan sentenced to death, but now freed, Olowoyo Oladipo sentenced to death, but now freed, Alaba Olagunjun sentenced to death, but now freed, Olabisi Adediji sentenced to life imprisonment but now freed, and Oladapo Adediji sentenced to life imprisonment but now freed.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More