Amotekun: Gani Adams-led Aare-in-Council throws support for S/West govs

• Appoints new chiefs, council members • Bishop Ladigbolu, Odumakin, Festus Adedayo, others on the list

The Aare-in-Council, the highest decision making organ of the 15th Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland, Iba Abiodun Ige Gani Adams, said it is in total support South-West Governors over their security initiative, tagged “Operation Amotekun” for the zone.

The Aare-in-Council made this known in a statement made available to newsmen in Lagos, saying the resolution was part of the communique issued at the end of its quarterly meeting, which held on Sunday, January 12, 2020.

The meeting, which was presided over by the Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland, Iba Gani Adams, also announced the appointment of new members of the Aare-in-Council, who are 16 in number, as well as the constitution of an Advisory Council that would further strengthen the activities of the Aare Onakakanfo.

The communiqué said that contrary to fears in certain quarters, the outfit would complement the security architecture of the region, and the nation at large, as well as boost the security of lives and property in the land.

It dispelled insinuation that the South-West Security Network was a military wing of the Oodua Peoples Congress (OPC), declaring that the long history of the group vis-à-vis its contribution to regional security was not in doubt.

The organization, the communiqué further stressed, would leverage on its rich experience, to support any initiative that would help secure Yorubaland and make it a no-go area to career criminals and their tribes.

ALSO READ: Oshodi-Abule Egba BRT corridor ready in May ― Sanwo-Olu

The communique, while announcing the appointment of 16 personalities as new members of the Aare-in-Council and the constitution of an Advisory Council that would further strengthen the activities of the Aare Onakakanfo, chief among which is the preservation of the tradition, culture, general interest and culture of the Yorubas, stated that the new chiefs and members of the Advisory Council were drawn from various spheres of life, including the academia, professionals, clergy, media, business, among others.

The new chiefs, according to the communique, include Chief Abiodun Adewale Kuku as Otun    Balogun, Mr Segun Sanni (Basorun), Hon. Chief Mrs Bolanle Kuku (Erelu), Otunba Obafemi Arowosola (Agbaoye), Dr Gboyega Adejumo (Gbonka) and Barrister Babajide Tanimowo (Atoloye).

Others are Mrs Esther Oyebola (Yeye Opeluwa), Chief Victor Mobolaji Adewale (Akingbayi) Alhaji Gani Oshidele Wahab (Tunaarese) Hon. Adegboyega Salvador-Adebayo (Otun Aare), Alh. Fatai Adeshina (Opo-Akin), Mrs Fatai Adeshina (Yeye- Opo Akin), Mr Akinola Osuntokun (Ajagun-Nla), Chief Bolaji Thomas Jaji (Ikolaba), Hon. Mutiu Olakunle Okunola (Jagun) and Mrs Bisi Tapere Wahab (Yeye-Tunaarese).

Members of the Advisory Council, the communique listed are Arch Bishop Ayo Ladigbolu as chairman, spokesperson of Pan-Yoruba socio-political group, Afenifere, Mr Yinka Odumakin, Chief Bolaji Ayorinde (SAN), Prof. Anthony Kila, Prof. Kemi Rotimi, a popular newspaper columnist, Dr Festus Adedayo; Alhaji Wasiu Abiola, Mr Gboyega Solanke, Chief Ishola Fapounda, Barrister Sola Ebiseni, Mr Wale Ojo-Lanre, Mr Razaq Oladosu Buska, Mr Richard Akinnola, Mr Dipo Kehinde, Mr Gabriel Akinadewo and Mr Dotun Oladipo.

Iba Adams reiterated that the Aare Onakakanfo-in-Council was not a secret cult but a body with the mandate to promote and preserve Yoruba tradition, culture, and heritage.

“Equally important, the body, from time to time, will continue to appraise matters affecting the Yoruba race and take a definite stand in the best interest of the Yoruba, both at home and in the diaspora,” he said.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More