Abubakar Sadiq Ibrahim emerges Gombe Assembly Speaker

Following the expiration of the tenure of the 8th Gombe State House of Assembly, the 9th Assembly was, on Friday, inaugurated with the election of a new Speaker in the person of Abubakar Ibrahim Sadiq of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) representing Yamaltu West State Constituency.

The election which was presided over by the Clerk of the House, Shehu Mohammed Atiku, also witnessed the emergence of Shuaibu Adamu Haruna, representing Kwami East State Constituency as the Deputy Speaker.

The Speaker and his Deputy who were elected unopposed by members of the House were immediately declared as duly elected by the Clerk following their respective nominations and thereafter administered with the oath of their respective offices by the Clerk.

The new Speaker was nominated by Musa Buba, representing Balanga North and seconded by Abdullahi Abubakar, representing Akko West while the Deputy Speaker had his nomination from Usman Hassan representing Gombe South and seconded by Nasiru Abdulkarim representing Gombe North.

Shortly after taking over as the new Speaker, Abubakar Ibrahim Sadiq then presided over the oath taking of the other twenty-two members of the 9th Assembly in batches.

In his acceptance speech, the new Speaker promised to hold the position in trust for the growth and betterment of the State and called for the support of other members to cooperate with him in effectively discharging their constitutional duties in order to be able to solve many of the challenges confronting the State.

Abubakar Ibrahim Sadiq also announced the other principal officers of the House as follows; Majority Leader, Markus Samuel; Deputy Majority Leader, Saddam Bello Saleh; Chief Whip, Musa Buba and Deputy Chief Whip, Yahaya Mohammed.

The PDP, on the other hand, sent in the names of Alhaji Ahmadu as the Minority Leader; Rambi Ayala, Deputy Minority Leader; Tulfugut Kardi as Minority Whip while Asma’u Iganus will serve as the House Deputy Minority Whip.

It will be recalled that the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) has the majority of nineteen members while the opposition PDP has five members in the twenty-four member House.