9th NASS Leadership: Our victory, triumph of democracy over impunity of minority ― APC

The  All Progressives Congress (APC) national working committee last night reacted to the victory of its anointed candidates in Tuesday’s election of principal officers of the national assembly.

Senators Ahmed Lawan and Omo Agege emerged senate president and deputy senate president, respectively. In the House of Representatives, the duo of Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila and Idris Wase won the election to the positions of Speaker and deputy speaker, House of Representatives. Senator Lawan defeated Senator Ali Ndume to emerge as Senate President while Femi Gbajabiamila trounced Honourable Mohammed Bago for the office of Speaker.

The APC spokesman, Mallam Lanre Isa Onilu in a statement attributed the party victory to “President, Muhammadu Buhari; the National Chairman of the Party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole; our governors; the National Executive Committee (NEC); the National Working Committee (NWC) other party leaders; members and supporters on the success of our federal lawmakers at the election of the Principal Officers for the 9th National Assembly.’

ALSO READ: 2019 election negates spirit of June 12 — Democracy Vanguard

He further described the feat recorded by the party as ” a triumph of democracy and party politics over the brazen lawlessness of anti-democratic forces who are nestled in the opposition party.

The statement further read in part:” Our party has consistently maintained that the leadership of the National Assembly belongs to the party in the majority. The outcome of these elections has clearly validated our party’s efforts to institutionalise party discipline and loyalty.

“It is a triumph of internal democracy, anchored on consensus building, to which we lay claim, over anti-democratic methods that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had foisted on our democracy over 16 years.

“We are deeply humbled by the honour bestowed on our great Party. While members of our great Party are entitled to savour this victory, we call on all to avoid pettiness and to continue to stretch hands of fellowship to progressive forces in other political parties and groups to consolidate our democracy.

” On the strength of our overwhelming numerical strength in the just inaugurated 9th National Assembly and the election of the Party’s adopted candidates as presiding officers in its two chambers, we must recommit to cooperation between the executive and legislative arms of government.

“The support of the National Assembly remains critical as an arm of government to enable the APC-led administration continue to deliver on our current scheme of provision of infrastructure throughout the length and breadth of Nigeria to boost economic development; to provide jobs to the citizenry; and to increase the tempo of  social investments and empowerment of our people.

“More synergy between the executive and the legislature will also boost the fight against corruption and give more impetus to national reorientation and the efforts to secure the nation.

” This is a clear departure from the shenanigans of the last National Assembly leadership, let us, therefore, make a new start, and move forward to meet the great challenges we face and deliver on our Change Agenda and Next Level manifesto. The 9th National Assembly must now immediately address itself to delivering the critical legislative intervention to enable the President Muhammadu Buhari administration to succeed for the benefit of the Nigerian people and ensure the smooth running of government.”