6 nominees make Technology Times Person of The Year 2016 list


Six nominees have been named for the Technology Times Person of the Year 2016, which honours the person that has made the most enduring contribution to the Information and Communication Technology industry (ICT) in Nigeria.

The maiden edition of the Technology Times Person of The Year 2016 seeks to honour the person that has made the most impactful, meaningful and enduring contribution to ICT in Nigeria, and the final honouree will be decided through complementary decision of Technology Times Editors (40 per cent) and online voting (60 per cent) by the internet community on the official website of the company.

Announcing the nominations in Lagos recently, Mr Shina Badaru, Founder/Chief Executive Officer, Technology Times Media Limited, publishers of the Technology Times titles and organisers of Technology Times Person of The Year 2016, said that the nominees have been selected through a diligent process for their distinctive contributions to ICT in Nigeria.

“Technology has fundamentally changed the way we live, work and play. We are pleased to announce that our nominees are men and women that have through their talent, treasure or time or a combination of these investments helped to make our world a better place,” according to Badaru.

According to him, the Technology Times Editors approved the nominations of six distinguished Nigerians for Technology Times Person of the Year 2016 including Dr Mike  Adenuga, Chairman, Globacom Limited; Professor Umar Garba Danbatta, Chief Executive/Executive Vice Chairman, Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC); Dr Leo Stan Ekeh, Chairman, Zinox Technologies; Dr Omobola Johnson, Pioneer Minister of Communication Technology for Nigeria; Ms Funke Opeke, Chief Executive Officer, MainOne and Mr Jim Ovia, Pioneer Chairman, Visafone Communications Limited.

Commenting on the next phase of the process, Badaru said “we are also pleased to foster an inclusive and transparent process to select the final honouree as millions of Technology Times readers across Nigeria, Africa and beyond will now vote to decide who they believe has made the most enduring contributions to ICT growth in Nigeria.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More