24 women in Adamawa to contest for Gov., NASS seats

NO fewer than 24 women in Adamawa are contesting for the governorship and national assembly seats in the forthcoming general elections.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that according to the lists posted at INEC office in Yola, four women are among the 29 candidates cleared for governorship election, while nine women are among the 43 candidates cleared for Senatorial election.

Eleven women are among 85 candidates cleared for House of Representatives election.

The list of candidates for the state House of Assembly is yet to be posted.

ALSO READ:  NGO lauds FG’s investment in agriculture

The women cleared to run for the governorship election are – Lami Musa of Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN), Na’ama Bulama of Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA), Rukayya Audu of Action Peoples Party (APP) and Elizabeth Isa of Change Advocacy Party (CAP).

Two other women, Hadiza Mohammed of Democratic Alternative (DA) and Rashida Balarabe of Movement for Restoration and Defence of Democracy (MRDD) were cleared to run for the position of deputy governor by their respective parties.

The women candidates cleared to run for Senatorial seats are – the incumbent, Sen. Binta Masi (APC), who is trying to retain her seat in Adamawa North, and a former House of Representatives member, Aishatu Ahmed, who is the APC candidate in Adamawa Central.

Other female Senatorial candidates are – Maryam Paul (ADC), Wabulari Wadumna (AGA), Lydia Zira (JMPP), Gift Shallangwa (NPM), Godiya Bulus (ACD), Patricia Yakubu (ADC) and Agnes Nuhu (PT).

Those for House of Representatives are – Olyada Madayi (APC), Ngodi Tala (PDM), Atiya Abel (PPN), Ladi Joseph (UPP), Justina Gokir (ACD), Angelina Augustine (PPN) and Fakuta Naiwa (ACD).

The others are Roseline Salihu (PPN), Caroline Stephen (ACD), Zainab Dahiru (ACD) and Faith Phnuel (PT).

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More