Oyo APC lauds Ajimobi’s roads, institutions’ renaming

SOME indigenes of Igboora, Ibarapa Central Local Government Area of Oyo State, have protested the recent decision of the Governor Abiola Ajimobi led government to rename the state’s college of Agriculture and Technology, Igboora after former governor Lamidi Adesina.

In a letter addressed to Ajimobi, a copy made available to Tribune Online, the indigenes, under the auspices of Igboora Community Foundation, hinged their objection to the renaming on the failure of the institution to enjoy “blessing and special consideration” throughout the Lam Adesina administration.

According to the indigenes, in the letter signed by Mr Adebisi Adeniran, Mr Hassan Okunade and Mr Kunle Aderogba, the administration of former governors Rashidi Ladoja and Adebayo Alao Akala played significant roles in the founding and development of the college as compared to the Lam Adesina administration.

Furthermore, the Igboora indigenes expressed displeasure that the renaming was done without due consultation to know the interest of the community.

ALSO READ: What to do when a child drinks poisonous substances

They wondered what warranted the renaming after Lam Adesina, arguing that other institutions were named after dignitaries and eminent persons of the community.

In particular, they made a case for the institution to be renamed after the late Amos Adegoke, who they described as an illustrious son and leader of the Igboora community who played significant roles in the founding and sustenance of the college.

If not Adegoke or any other indigene of Igboora, the indigenes asked that the name remains as Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology, Igboora.

The letter, in parts, read, “We as stakeholders in the community, owe it a duty to register our displeasure and protest the renaming of Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology, Igbo Ora as Lam Adesina College of Agriculture and Technology, Igbo-Ora.

“It is our displeasure to note that the institution from its outset and creation has not enjoyed the blessing and special consideration of the Lam Adesina administration throughout the tenure of office to warrant the renaming of the institution after him, most importantly, the administration of Senator Rashidi Ladoja and Chief Alao Akala played significant roles in the founding and development of the college other than Lam Adesina and whereas the community primarily provided the land for its establishment.

“It is more disheartening to observe that other institutions located within other communities in the state are named after the dignitaries and/or eminent sons of the community or to recognise the importance of the said community within the state rather than by a spontaneous way without hearing and considering the interest of the community, as in the instant case.

“It will serve the best interest of the Igboora community to rename the institution after any of the community’s illustrious sons and eminent personalities, particularly, late Chief Amos Olasupo Adegoke, or better still, retain the former name of the institution.

“We will forever be grateful, as a parting gift from your Excellency, if the decision could be revisited and the interest of the community is made to bear in the exercise to rename the institution.”

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress (APC), Oyo State chapter has lauded Ajimobi for his decision to honour heroes of the state by renaming roads and institutions.

In a statement by its public relations office, Dr Azeez Olatunde, the party said Ajimobi, in his actions for the past eight years, continued to show intelligence, vision, character and foresight.

Furthermore, the party commended the immortalisation of former governor Lam Adesina with the renaming of Challenge to New Garage road and College of Agriculture and Technology, Igboora.

This is as it praised the renaming of various roads in honour of former governors Rashidi Ladoja and Adebayo Alao Akala; monarchs, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi, Oba Jimoh Oyewumi and Oba Saliu Adetunji; and personalities like Adeseun Ogundoyin, Adebayo Faleti, Mrs Onikepo Akande and Ambassador Olusola Sanu.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More