2019: Protest greets announcement of consensus candidates list in Ogun

OgunScores of members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), on Tuesday, protested over the alleged exclusion of the name of an aspirant for the House of Representatives, Mr Afolabi Afuwape, from the consensus list.
The exercise, which started on Monday had 26 candidates for the House of Assembly; three candidates for the senatorial district and six out of nine House of Representatives candidates to be fielded for elective posts.
The protesters expressed their displeasure over the outcome of the exercise which they believed was not just in all ramifications.
The list of the House of Assembly members was not made available to newsmen as at press time.
However, the State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, who handled the exercise, announced himself as the consensus candidate for the Ogun Central Senatorial District; his Chief of Staff, Chief Tolu Odebiyi as the candidate for Ogun West and Senator Lekan Mustapha as the consensus candidate for Ogun East Senatorial District.
Those who emerged for the House of Representatives include; the Speaker of the House of Assembly, Hon Suraj Adekunbi (Egbado North/Ipokia); former chairman of Ado-Odo/Ota, Hon. Rotimi Rahman(Ota); the State Commissioner for Special Duties, Leke Adewolu(Ewekoro/Ifo).
Others include the Director General of Bureau of Lands, Biyi Ismail (Ijebu North/Ijebu North-East/Ogunwaterside); the Chief Executive Director of Regency Assurance, Mr Biyi Otegbeye (Egbado South /Ipokia) and Hon Mikahi Kazeem who is currently representing Abeokuta North/Obafemi-Owode and Odeda.
The names of candidates for the remaining three House of Representatives seats which include Ijebu Central; Abeokuta South and Remo Federal Constituencies were not made available.
Amosun while addressing the protesters and other party members within the premises of the Presidential Lodge, in Abeokuta, said the lists would be submitted to the National Working Committee of the party in Abuja, so as to meet submission deadline of forms.