Breaking News in Nigeria Today

2019: APC NWC axes Adebayo Shittu, Al Hassan

Adebayo Shittu

Ahead of tomorrow governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress to pick its candidates, two ministers of the President Muhammadu Buhari cabinet, Adebayo Shittu and Aisha Al Hassan, seeking the party ticket have been axed.

Nigerian Tribune checks revealed that Minister of Communications, Adebayo Shittu, and his counterpart in the Women Affairs, Senator Aisha Al Hassan, were not cleared to participate in the governorship primaries by the party screening committee.
The duo were amongst candidates seeking for the exalted positions in Oyo and Taraba states,  respectively.
In the final list made available last night, the embattled Communications Minister was disqualified over his non participation in the mandatory National Youth Service Corp (NYSC).
No reason was however given for the disqualification of Senator Al Hassan.
The final list further revealed that all the other 7 aspirants for the party ticket in Oyo State were cleared for tomorrow’s exercise.
The list include, former Oyo State governor, Otunba Adebayo Alao Akala, Project Director and Director at Integrated Energy Distribution And Marketing Limited,  Dr Olusola Ayandele and legal luminary, Chief Adeniyi Akintola  (SAN).
Other aspirants cleared were former Commissioner for Health,  Dr Owolabi Babalola,  a Senior Partner and Head of the Technology Advisory Services and Markets of KPMG Professional Services in Nigeria,  Joseph Olasunkanmi Tegbe, Commissioner for Health, Dr Azeez Adeduntan and former Deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Adebayo Adelabu.
Other aspirants equally disqualified were Danladi Anza Halilu and Abubakar Maji for the party tickets in North Central states of Nasarawa and Niger states. 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More