Rohr names strong Eagles against Tanzania

Except injured pair, Alex Iwobi and Oghenekaro Etebo, German coach, Gernot Rohr on Friday named a strong Nigerian squad against Tanzania in a match meant to fulfil all formalities as far as qualification games for the 2018 Africa Nations Cup (AFCON) are concerned.

Both countries have no claim to the slots having crashed out of the competition, but Rohr  feels it is an important get-together so as to forge ahead of the Russia 2018 World Cup qualifier in a group that has Algeria, Cameroun, Zambia and Nigeria contending for a single ticket.

“We need to see all our players, there is no useless game as far as qualifiers are concerned. That is why they are FIFA free days,’’ Rohr told journalists in Abuja.

Some also claimed the Franco-German handler drew up the strong list so as to start his campaign on the Nigerian job on a winning note.

Noteworthy is the inclusion of Nigeria’s U-20 striker, Victor Osimen and uncapped defender, Chidozie Awaziem  who plays for FC Porto in Portugal.

All invited  players are expected  in Uyo on Sunday August 28.


Full List:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Imoh Ezekiel (Al-Arabi Sporting Club, Qatar), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)