Ogun LG poll: CJ inaugurates 9-man tribunal

Ogun State Chief Judge, Justice Olatokunbo Olopade, has inaugurated a 9-man Election Petition Tribunal to adjudicate on petitions that might arise from the recently  October 8 Local Government Councils and Local Councils Development Areas (LCDAs) polls in the state.

Swearing in the panel at the Chief Justice’s Chamber in Abeokuta, Justice Olopade stated that three (3) tribunals were established in the three senatorial districts of the state for easy access to justice and quick disposal of petitions.

The Chief Judge, in a statement signed by the Ministry of Justice press officer, Mr Kehinde Balogun, affirmed that the task set before the panel was ‘’a delicate and sensitive one’’, saying they should brace up for the challenge as they would have to do justice to several petitions as the election involved  20 Local Government Areas and the newly created 37 LCDAs in the state.

Justice Olopade charged them to be upright and transparent in the discharge of their duties, adding that their appointment was to eschew any form of favouritism or nepotism and undue association with politicians.

According to her, “You must all know that your duty is a very delicate and sensitive one, you have sworn to your oath of office and I urge you to abide strictly by it.

“You must distance yourselves and members of your families from any association or relationship with litigants or politicians that might come before your tribunal, which may create any doubt on your impartiality; you are to be diligent in your duties and show transparent, fairness and uprightness, as  adequate security measures have been put in place for the performance of your duties.’’. Mr Olatunde Oyajimi is the chairman in Ogun Central, while Mr Bola Odeyale and Ven. Kunle Fajobi are members. For Ogun East, the chairman is Mr Abiola Adegoke, while the members are Mr Ibrahim Atanda and Alhaji Tajudeen Fakorede. In Ogun West, Mr Sola Oyefeso will act as the chairman, while the members are Mr Sola Oyewo and Alhaji Ajibade Adeyemi.

In their separate remarks after the inauguration, the Chairmen unanimously pledged to discharge their duties without fear or favour, to the best of their knowledge and in accordance with the rule of law.