‘Why Lagos was chosen for 2016 AFRIMA’

The African Union Commission (AUC) on Monday declared Lagos State the official host city for the 2016 All African Music Awards (AFRIMA).

The Head of Culture Department, African Union Commission (AUC) AFRIMA, Ms. Angela Martins made the announcement during a media parley held at Protea Hotel GRA, Ikeja, Lagos.

She said Lagos was chosen among three other contesting cities, namely Calabar (Cross River State), Port Harcourt (Rivers State) and Uyo (Akwa Ibom State) because it “edged others” out.

Martins described the decision that placed Lagos above other three potential host cities as “a herculean task” as “all the cities targeted were equal to the task in terms of infrastructure, tourism potential and richness of culture, but Lagos edged others in these areas.”

“Also, in choosing the host city, we considered factors such as the willingness to create value and deep brand equity not only for Nigerians, but Africans. Also, there was the consideration of which state has the most motivation to host AFRIMA in line with its values; which has the strongest vision in tourism, culture and entertainment. Then, the state must have the most adequate facilities, surrounding infrastructure, security and tourist attraction to host the event and should have hosted successful events in the past that attracted both national and global audiences as well as government’s responsiveness. It was discovered Lagos possesses all these factors and we arrived at our decision,” she declared.

It will be recalled that Lagos has hosted the first and second editions of the continental fete.

Speaking at the ceremony, the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, represented by Lagos State Commissioner for Information, Mr. Steve Ayorinde and Special Adviser to the Governor on Culture, Mrs. Adebimpe Akinsola, expressed gratitude and optimism at the choice of Lagos as host city.


The event was attended by officials of the African Union, members of the international committee of AFRIMA, winner of 2015 AFRIMA, stakeholders, media executives, artistes and government functionaries.